Cheryl E. Johnson, PCC

Assessor and Collector of Taxes
Galveston County Courthouse, 722 Moody, Galveston, Texas 77550
Toll Free (877) 766-2284 TFax (400) 766-2479
galcotax@co.galveston.tx.us

Sheriff Sale Information

Date & Time of Sale: First Tuesday of every month at 10 a.m.
Location: Commissioners Court Room, Galveston County Courthouse 1st floor,
722 Moody, Galveston, Texas

Properties are advertised 21 days prior to the sale in The Post and are listed on bulletin boards at County offices. More

detailed information is currently available at www.taxsales.Igbs.com and www.pbfcm.com/taxsale.html.

Sheriff Sales are open to the public. Those wishing to participate in the bidding process must register or check in prior
to the sale to obtain a bidder number. Absentee bidding is NOT permitted. Successful bidders must remit full payment
on sale day no later than 4:00 pm in the form of cash, cashier’s check, or money order (payable to Galveston County
Sheriff’s Office). Financing is NOT available. Properties not sold at auction are struck off to one of the taxing entities
(see Resale of Struck Off Properties below).

Successful bidders must apply for a Certificate of Eligibility (see following pages) by submitting a completed application
along with a $10.00 processing fee at any GCTO office. Certificates will be mailed upon completion of the research. The
Certificate of Eligibility and a $30.00 money order or cashier’s check payable to the Galveston County Clerk must be
submitted to the Sheriff's Department in order for the deed to be prepared and recorded. Buyers will receive a copy of
the deed once it is filed. Additional information may be obtained by contacting Captain Douglas Hudson, Galveston
County Sheriff’s Department, at (409) 766-2401.

Redemption Periods & Fees

Redemption periods begin the date the deed is recorded. Homestead and agricultural exempt properties may be
redeemed up to two (2) years from deed recording. All other properties may be redeemed within six (6) months of
recording. Redemption fees due buyer are as follow:

Homestead or Ag:  First Year: Price of Sale + 25% All Others: Six Months: Price of Sale + 25%
Second Year: Price of Sale + 50%

Resale of Struck Off Properties
Properties not sold at the auction are struck off to a taxing entity and sold by a resale committee. Contact either
delinquent law firm for additional information on these property sales. Bid forms are required.

Linebarger, et al www.publicans.com  409-948-3401 judy.fuller@lgbs.com
Perdue Brandon, et al www.pbfcm.com 800-833-5886 mlafleur@pbfcm.com

Other Legal Matters to Consider When Purchasing Property at Tax Sales
All properties —whether sold at the Sheriff Sale or Resale are sold “as is” with regard to title and physical condition of
the property. If you have questions, consult your attorney.

Bidders or buyers of Sheriff Sale or Resale property are strongly encouraged to do their own title research before
bidding or purchasing property at delinquent tax sales. Property taxes may be due outside of the years included in the
Sheriff Sale. Be certain to do your homework!

Properties are frequently removed from a sale. Contact the Property Tax Department for cancellations or visit law firm
websites referenced above.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Mortgage foreclosure information is available on the County Clerk’s website by owner
name. If the owner name is not known, information can be obtained in person at the County Clerk’s Office.
Copies are $1/page. Galveston County is not involved in these sales.



http://www.publicans.com
http://www.pbfcm.com

Application to Obtain Certificate of Eligibility to Purchase
Galveston County Sheriff Sale Real Property

STATE OF TEXAS )

COUNTY OF GALVESTON )

L hereby request the Galveston County Tax Assessor Collector
issue a Certificate of Eligibility to purchase real property at the Sheriff Tax Sale in my name and to:

|:| Mail said Certificate to me at:

I:l Contact me at to make arrangements to pick up the Certificate

I understand that this application must be completed and delivered to the Galveston County Tax Office
along with a $10.00 processing fee within six months from the sale in order to obtain my Sheriff’s Deed.

By signing this document, I affirm that I have included below the name or assumed names of all
proprietorships, corporations, partnerships, limited partnerships and/or limited liability companies in
which I have an ownership interest and/or properties that I own individually or jointly with another party
or parties. Ialso affirm that I have legal authority to do so on behalf of any entity listed herein.

Additionally listed are addresses or legal descriptions for any and all properties that I currently own an
interest (exclusive of liens), in whole or part. (Attach additional pages if necessary.)

I hereby swear and attest that all statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of my
knowledge and belief.

Date Signature of Requestor
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Application to Obtain Certificate of Eligibility to Purchase Galveston County Sheriff Sale Real Property

Applicant:

Below continues names or assumed names of all proprietorships, corporations, partnerships, limited
partnerships and/or limited liability companies in which I have an ownership interest and/or properties that
I own individually or jointly with another party or parties and the addresses or legal descriptions for any and
all properties that I currently own an interest (exclusive of liens), in whole or part. (Continued from Page ___).
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