Office hours are Monday thru Friday 8AM to 5PM. Closed from12 PM to 1 PM. The GCME office is closed on all Texas State observed Holidays.
What to do when a person dies and is taken to the GCME office:
When a person dies and is taken to the GCME office the legal next of kin should contact a funeral home of their choice and advise the funeral director of the death and that the body was taken to the Medical Examiner's office. The legal next of kin must sign a release form at the funeral home, authorizing the GCME to release the body to the funeral home they have chosen. All personal property to be released will be released to the funeral home and returned to the family by them. The exception to this is property taken by the Police in a criminal investigation.
(Priority Order of Next of Kin) (Texas Health and Safety Code 711.002)
1. The person designated in a written instrument signed by the decedent.
2. The decedent's surviving spouse.
3. Any one of the decedent's surviving adult children.
4. Either one of the decedent's surviving parents.
5. Any one of the decedent's surviving adult siblings.
6. Any adult person in the next degree of kinship in the order named by law to inherit the estate of the decedent.
Can we come to the GCME office and view the body?
The Medical Examiner's Office does not have a viewing facility. This must be done at a funeral home.
Will there be an autopsy?
Not all persons brought to the medical examiner's office are autopsied. There are different factors taken into consideration when deciding if an autopsy will be done. Ultimately it is up to the Medical Examiner assigned to the case whether an autopsy is to be conducted.
How do I get a copy of the autopsy report?
the information below.
2. One free
copy is provided to the legal next of kin upon written request.
3. A charge of
$25.00 is incurred for all other requests.
copies are $25.00.
Make check payable to:
Galveston County Medical Examiner.
written request to: 6607 Hwy 1764
Texas City, TX 77591
6. The request,
from a legal next of kin, may be faxed to 409-935-8305.
7. All reports
will be mailed to the recipients address provided below.
8. A request
for images must be accompanied by a subpoena.
An additional administrative fee of $50.00 is incurred for production
and express mail of images.
Information for Request:
Date of Death
City or County of Death
What You Are Requesting
Requestor’s Relationship to Decedent
Address to Mail Report
How do I get a death certificate?
The death certificate consists of two parts. The medical portion is filled out by the GCME and the demographic portion is filled out by the Funeral Home. Once the death certificate is completed and signed the funeral home is responsible for filing it with the Department of Vital Statistcs. The GCME only signs death certificates of persons who die in Galveston County.