
Marriage License Requirements 
 

FEE: $81.00* MUST BE IN CASH, DEBIT OR CREDIT CARD (MASTER CARD, VISA OR DISCOVER CARD ONLY) 

*Couples attending a qualifying premarital education class will have the 
$60 state marriage license fee waived, as well as the 72-hour waiting period. 

Visit  http://twogetherintexas.com  for more information. 

**HIV/AIDS information for persons applying for a marriage license in Texas can be found at: 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/hivtest/.  If you do not have internet access, call 512-533-3000 to 

request a free print copy of this information. 

**Información sobre el VIH/SIDA para las personas que solicitan una licencia de matrimonio 

en Texas se puede encontrar en http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/hivtestesp/.  Si usted no tiene acceso 

a Internet, llame al 512-533-3000 para solicitar una copia gratuita de esta información. 

***Couples who applied for a marriage license may obtain a premarital handbook: 

Visit  https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/index.shtml 

If they do not have internet access, they may obtain a paper copy of the handbook at: 

Materials Request/Reprographics 
Office of the Attorney General 

P.O. Box 12548 

Austin, TX 78711-2548 

Phone: (512) 936-1737 Fax: (512) 469-3157 

 
Overview Marriage records in Galveston County exists from 1838 to present 

Age 

Requirements 

Must be 18 Years or Older - No parental consent required. 

Ages 16 to 17 - Must have consent of a parent, managing conservator or 

legal guardian or judicial approval. 

Under 16 - Must provide a court order granted under Sec. 2.103 

The County Clerk can provide a parental consent form.  For additional 

information call (409-766-2207). 

Application 

Requirements 

Both Parties must appear together to apply for a marriage license. 

Exception: Portion of the application process may be completed by filing an 

Absentee Affidavit if one party is unable to appear in person. 

Call (409-766-2207). 

Identification 

Requirements 

Ages 18 Years or Older – Acceptable form of Identification:  Original or 

Certified Copy of Birth Certificate, Valid Driver License, Military ID, Valid 

ID issued by the Department of Public Safety, Valid Passport, Any valid ID 

issued by the state of Texas, etc. (Acceptability of the document presented 

will be determined at the county level. No Plain copies or Expired 

Documents will be approved.) 

Ages 15 to 17 - A certified copy of applicant’s birth certificate. The parent, 

managing conservator or legal guardian must also present identification and 

document confirming proof of custody or guardianship or conservatorship. 

Social Security Number (SSN) required for both applicants. 

License License must be obtained 72 hours prior to wedding. Only a County Court at 

Law Judge or District Judge can waive this requirement.  An applicant who 

is on active military duty is exempt from the 72 hour waiting period(Waiver 

Form available only at Main County Clerk Office-Galveston. If waiver 
is needed notify Deputy issuing license when application is being 
processed.) 
License is valid up to 90 days after date of issuance. 
License is valid in any county in Texas. 

http://twogetherintexas.com/
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/hivtest/
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/hivtestesp
https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/index.shtml


 

Blood Test No Blood Test is required in Texas 

Ceremony Marriages in Texas may be performed by: 

A licensed or ordained Christian minister or priest 

A Jewish rabbi 

A person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized by the 

organization to conduct a marriage ceremony. 
A Justice of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, & of the Peace, Judge of the Court of 
Criminal Appeals, County, District, Probate Courts, County 

courts at law, Courts of domestic relations, of the Juvenile courts, Municipal court, or judge 

or magistrate of a federal court of this state; retired Justice or Judge of those courts, retired 

Justice of the Peace, retired Judge of municipal court, or retired Judge or Magistrate of 

federal court of this state who are fully vested in the Federal Employees Retirement System 

under 28 U.S.C. Section 371 or 377. 

 
Prohibited Marriages Applicants must have been divorced for 30 days (unless waived). 

The other applicant is not related as: 
a. An ancestor or descendant, by blood or adoption 

b. A brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by adoption 

c. A parent's brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by adoption 

d. A son or daughter of a brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by 

adoption 
e. A current or former stepchild or stepparent; or 
f. A son or daughter of a parent’s brother or sister, of the whole or half blood 

or by adoption 

Informal Marriage 

License 

Couples living together as husband and wife may wish to make a matter of record their 

marriage without formality. Call for additional information on a Declaration of Informal 

Marriage at 409-766-2207. 

  

  

*** The original license must be returned to the County Clerk in the county that it was purchased. After final 

recording of the original marriage certificate, it will be mailed to the applicants at address given. A certified copy 

can be obtained in person or by mail at any time. 

  

***Authenticating a marriage document may be prepared for a marriage certified by the County Clerk. Send the 

properly certified document with $15.00 fee and a self addressed stamped envelope directly to: 

Secretary of State 
Statutory Documents Section 
P.O. Box 12887 

Austin, Texas 78711 

Or 

1019 Brazos Street 
Austin, Texas 78701 
For Further information contact: Texas Dept. of State Health Services 

Phone: (888) 963-7111     Web Site:  http://www.dshs.state.tx.us 

  

Return to Galveston County Marriage License Information  
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