
 

REQUEST FOR A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE  (Art. 45.0511(b), C.C.P.)  

 

 

 

CAUSE NUMBER: _______________ 

 
 

THE STATE OF TEXAS * IN THE JUSTICE COURT 

                   VS * PRECINCT 4 

__________________________ * GALVESTON COUNTY, TEXAS  

 

DEFENDANT’S REQUEST FOR A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE 

 

 I hereby enter my appearance on the complaint of the offense of: _______________________________________ by certified mail. 

I understand that I have a right to a jury trial.  I hereby waive my right to a jury trial, plead (guilty)(no contest), and elect under Article 

45.0511, Code of Criminal Procedure, to take a driving safety course.   

  

 I understand that I must present the Court the following with this request: 

1. a valid Texas driver’s license or permit, or proof that I am a member, or the spouse or dependent child of a member, of the 

United States military forces serving on active duty; 

2. proof of financial responsibility pursuant to Chapter 601, Transportation Code (automobile liability insurance);  

3. payment of court costs and administrative fees in the amount of ($132.10 if offense date is September 1, 2019 through 

December 31, 2019 /$146.00 for offense date of 1/1/2020 or later) by Money Order or Cashier Check 

 I understand that I must: 

1. complete a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course as applicable within 90 days of this request; 

2. submit by the 90th day from this request a uniform certificate of course completion of a driving safety course or a verification 

of course completion of a motorcycle operator training course as evidence that I have completed such a course; 

3. submit by the 90th day from this request an affidavit that I was not taking such a course nor had I completed one within the 

preceding 12 months from the date of my current offense that is not shown on my driving record as maintained by the Texas 

Department of Public Safety (or if I am on active military duty, or am the spouse or dependant child of a member of the United 

States military forces serving on active duty, that I have not taken a course in another state in the preceding 12 months nor am 

taking such a course at the time of this request); and 

4. submit by the 90th day from this request a certified copy of my driving record as maintained by the Texas Department of 

Public Safety. 

 

 I understand that: 

1. if I comply with the court order granting the taking of a driving safety/motorcycle operator training course and submit all the 

required evidence as ordered, the Court will dismiss my case and report to the Texas Department of Public Safety the date that 

I completed my course for inclusion on my driving record; 

2. if I fail to submit all the evidence required by the Court, I will be notified of a show cause hearing and be required to appear 

before the Court to show cause why I did not present the required evidence of course completion; 

3. the judge may at the show cause hearing enter a final adjudication against me and require me to pay the fine; and 

4. the failure to appear at the show cause hearing will result in a final adjudication being entered against me, and that I will be 

required to pay the fine and any additional costs required by law. 

 

I ATTEST THAT I HAVE READ THIS DOCUMENT. 

 

 

___________________________________________________     

Defendant's Signature                                                            Date Defendant’s Attorney (if applicable) Date 

  



 
 

AFFIDAVIT FOR A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE (Art. 45.0511(c)(3), C.C.P.) 

 

 

CAUSE NUMBER: _______________ 
 

 

 

THE STATE OF TEXAS * IN THE JUSTICE COURT 

                   VS * PRECINCT 4 

__________________________ * GALVESTON COUNTY, TEXAS  

AFFIDAVIT 

 

 

I, ___________________________, state under oath that on the date of my request for a driving safety course/motorcycle operator training 

course in the above numbered cause that I was not taking such a course nor had I completed one within the 12 months preceding the date 

of my current offense that is not shown on my driving record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety (or as maintained by 

the state that issued my driver’s license - active military duty personnel only). 

 

____________________________________ 

 Defendant’s Signature  

 

 

 

 Sworn and subscribed before me, the undersigned authority on this the ____ day of ____________________, 20___. 

 

 

 

____________________________________ 

                                                       (Notary Public in and for the State of Texas)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*****MUST SIGN BEFORE A NOTARY ***** 


