Case No.

STATE OF TEXAS § In the Justice Court
VS, § Precinct
§ Galveston County, Texas

REQUEST FOR MANDATORY DRIVING SAFETY COURSE

Now comes the above named Defendant in this matter and requests that further proceedings be deferred for ninety
(90) days to allow Defendant to complete a Driving Safety Course, under article 45.0511 CCP, approved by the Texas
Education Agency. After being by me duly sworn, Defendant on oath deposes and says:

e | hereby waive my right to a jury trial and entera pleaof __ NO CONTEST or ___ GUILTY to the
charge of .

s | have avalid Texas Driver’s License or Permit; or am a member, or the spouse of dependent child of a
member of the United States Military forces serving on active duty; and I am 17 years of age or older.

s | do not have a Commercial Driver's License.

e | have proof of financial responsibility (automabile liability insurance).

¢ |am notin the process of taking a Driving Safety Course for a different traffic offense.

s | have not taken a Driving Safety Course within the past 12 months to obtain dismissal of a traffic offense.

l understand that | MUST:
s Present a certified copy of my driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety to the
Judge for approval on my assigned court date. { information provided for driving record)
e Pay $112.10 to the Court. (NO PERSONAL CHECKS)
s Provide proof of financial responsibility to the Court.
* Provide my valid Texas Driver’s License to the Court.

| further understand this offense will be dismissed after the ninety (90) day pericd upon providing proof of successful
completion of a Driving Safety Course, certified copy of driving record and proof of liability insurance,

Failure to take the course or to give the Court my certificate of completion along with my Texas Driving record by the
required due date, will require my appearance to show cause why proof was not timely submitted. At that time, the
Court may enter a judgment of guilt. If ] fail to appear at the hearing, the Court will enter a judgment of guilt and the
offense will appear as a conviction on my driving record, plus a Capias

Warrant will be issued for my arrest and additional fine and fees will be assessed.

Defendant signature:

Address: DL Number:
City: ST: , Zip Date/Birth:
Email:
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME, THIS DAY OF , 20

NOTARY PUBLIC



TONI C. RANDALL
JUSTICE OF THE PEACE
GALVESTON COUNTY, PRECINCT 7
4500 10" Street / PO Box 8327
Bacliff, TX 77518
(281) 316-8804 Office
(409) 765-3295 Fax

DRIVING RECORDS CAN BE ORDERED ONLINE FOR $12 AT:

www.texas.gov
{(Must have a valid credit card or debit card)

Online instructions: at the website, go to “Driver Records”. The type
of record requesting is 3A which is acceptable for the Defensive
Driving Course (DDC). You may download a form and mail it, which
may take 2-3 weeks for delivery or Click continue to order it online
and follow the instructions.



