GALVESTON COUNTY
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS & SENIOR SERVICES
SENIOR SERVICES DIVISION
BUS RULES AND REGULATIONS

THE PROGRAM

The Galveston County Senior Services Transportation Program aims to help groups of seniors
enjoy the many activities, parks and scenic places available throughout Galveston County and
surrounding areas. By the four senior centers (Bacliff, Dickinson, Galveston, and Johnson) making
available the buses, vans and drivers for use by senior groups, we hope to add years of pleasure and
adventure to the lives of our valued older citizens.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE?
Groups of senior citizens 55 years and older are eligible to make reservations. An adult escort

(under the age of 55) may accompany each group. Exception to the age rule will be made for
sponsors of seniors. Trip coordinators, must insure every passenger is in compliance with
Galveston County’s age restriction of 55 years or older. Failure to adhere to these guidelines could
result in termination of the groups’ bus usage. Reservation priorities will be given to the following
tiers;

Tier 1 - Galveston County Community Centers/ Eligibility of Program

Tier 2 - Non Profit Corporations/Governmental-Municipality (Cities) Churches, retired
organizations (AARP), senior clubs, senior public housing, educational institutes, etc.

Tier 3 — For Profit Organizations-Serving seniors 55+ or Persons of disability-assisted
living, nursing homes, hospitals, etc.

FEES AND CHARGES
There is no charge for using the transportation for the Tier 1 Galveston County Senior Services

program with the exception of the expenses for your, meal(s), tickets, entrance fees and parking for
the bus, which your group must provide. For Tier 2 and 3 there will be a charge of $300.00 for out
of county trips and $150.00 for in county trips. Payment is due one month prior to the scheduled
trip. These fees include maintenance, fuel and driver operations. Please treat your driver as your
guest. Your driver is a county employee and therefore is not permitted to accept tips or gifts.
Donations may be given to the program. (see How to Contribute pg.4)
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STAFF AND DRIVERS
Our staff and drivers are here to serve you. Please understand they must operate under State of

Texas laws and regulations for your safety. All those who operate our buses and vans have State of
Texas Commercial Drivers Licenses. All Galveston County Senior Services Program drivers have
received training in CPR (Cardio-Pulmonary Rescue) and standard First Aid for minor

emergencies.

WHERE AND WHEN WE GO
Our buses, vans and drivers are available to groups MONDAY through FRIDAY starting no earlier

then 7:30 am. We presently will take a minimum number of weekend trips on a first-come, first-
serve basis. Our destinations are all within a 125-radius of Galveston County. The buses and vans
are not available for overnight trips or holidays observed by Galveston County. A list of suggested
places to visit is available (including phone numbers) so your group may obtain information
concerning cost and schedules. Special needs for your group, such as ramps, elevators, wheelchair
and special assistance for participants, must be handled by the trip leader or coordinator in advance.
Please contact your destination to arrange for any other special services required by participants.

PHYSICALLY CHALLENGED PARTICIPANTS
Important: We strongly recommend that any participant who uses a wheelchair or require special
attention have someone accompany them since our bus drivers are unable to assist,

Nursing home staff who assist their residents do not need to be 55 years or older. This policy
includes assisted living and/or convalescent care staff,. IMPORTANT: Galveston County requires
that nursing homes and assisted living communities provide enough staff for the needs of
individuals in the group. In the event that proper staffing is not sent on the trip, the driver is
instructed to contact this office for further instruction.

Individuals who cannot board (climb the steps) of the bus without assistance, need to be transported
on one of our two (2) wheelchair accessible buses. These vehicles can accommodate motorized

wheelchairs or the folding type. However, on our other vehicles if the passenger can board the
vehicle but requires a wheelchair for the trip, the chair can be taken but must be the tolding type.

RESERVING A BUS OR VAN

To reserve your bus or van, please call (409) 770-6252 from 8:00am — 5:00pm
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NO WALK INS

Buses and vans are reserved on a first call, first-serve basis. Groups are allowed to reserve one trip
per month. Trips are scheduled no earlier than three months in advance. We strongly recommend
that you call on the first working day of each month to schedule your trip.

(see Reservation Procedures pg 5).

We will need the following information from you when making your reservation:
* Requesting Date
* Number of People in Group (Planning to g0 on trip)
* Destination
* Pick Up Time
* Pick Up Location (only ONE allowed) and telephone number at location
* How Long the Event Will Last
* Name, Telephone Number and Address of person responsible for the trip (plus
a number for someone who may be called on the day of the event).

Detailed itineraries and plans for the group must be arranged and directed by the group’s leader or
coordinator, not the bus driver or Galveston County staff. Please have your planned itinerary
available for the driver upon arrival of your pick up location. (Itinerary forms are sent with
confirmation)

CONFIRMING
A confirmation letter will be sent to you one month prior to your trip. Please call us immediately if

any information is incorrect of if there is a change.

IMPORTANT
Trip coordinators must call our office at (409) 770-6252 at least (3) to (5) days in advance of your
trip to confirm the number of people planning to travel. Please take note to the minimum number

of passengers required for usage of the bus.

A minimum of twenty (20) passengers is required for the 28 passenger bus.

CANCELLING
Should the weather become severe during a trip, it is up to the driver of the vehicle as to whether
the trip should be cancelled. In the event that unsafe weather conditions prevail, the Program

Director may cancel a trip in advance.
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HOW TO CONTIBUTE

The Galveston County Senior Services Transportation Program, gratefully appreciates any
donations you or your group may wish to make. Contributions help fund the cost of the program
and allow us to present special events to seniors’ groups. To make certain your donation is credited
to your group, make donations payable to the Galveston County Senior Services Program and Mail

to:

Galveston County Department of Parks & Senior Services
4102 Main Street (FM 519)
La Marque, Texas 77568
For Further Information, Call: (409) 770-6252

RULES ON THE ROAD

To conform with safety laws and regulations, we ask for your cooperation in observing these rules
for riding Galveston County buses and vans:

Mobile Phones in all vehicles are only for emergencies.
Smoking is prohibited on all vehicles.

No alcoholic beverages are allowed on the vehicles. We request that groups using our buses and
vans do not serve nor use alcohol during their event.

No cating or drinking on vehicles. Please announce this to your group prior to the trip.
(NOTE: Picnic lunches may be taken, but not eaten on the bus). Drinking water is permitted.

Please DO NOT TIP the bus driver.

If any rider gets unruly, the driver will notify the group leader and ask that he or she solve the
problem. If the group leader is unable to solve unruly behavior by any rider, the driver is instructed
to leave the event or discontinue the trip. The driver will then make a written report to the Senior
Services Transportation Program director for review. Misconduct reports on any group could result
in canceling future requests. If there are any complaints about your driver or the vehicles, please
contact the Operations Manager at (409) 770-6252.
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GALVESTON COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF PARKS & SENIOR SERVICES
TRANSPORTATION RESERVATION
Fiscal Year 2008

PROCEDURES:
Call (409) 770-6252 to select a date for your group’s trip.

Please see the chart below in determining when to call for reservations. It is strongly recommended
that you call this office the first working day of cach month, beginning at 8:00 a.m. to help assure
your group a trip. There are many groups being served with limited transportation and as always, is
done on a first-call, first serve basis. NO WALK INS

The following information is needed when making a reservation:
* Type of vehicle needed (bus / van)
* Requested date
* Number of people
* Destination
* Pick up time and location (only ONE allowed)
* How long event will last
* Name, telephone number and address of person responsible for trip
(plus, a telephone number for someone who can be called the day of the event)

FOR THE MONTH OF:
SCHEDULING BEGINS

October 1, 2007 January, 2008
November 1, 2007 February, 2008
December 3, 2007 March, 2008
January 1, 2008 April, 2008
February 4, 2008 May, 2008

March 3, 2008 June, 2008
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April 1, 2008

July, 2008
May 1, 2008 August, 2008
June 2, 2008 September , 2008
July 1, 2008 October, 2008

August 1, 2008

November, 2008

September 1, 2008

December, 2008

October 1, 2008

January, 2009
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Galveston County Department of Parks & Senior Services
Transportation Enrichment Program Reservation

Name:

Address:

Contact Number:

Date of Trip:

Requested Organization:

Destination:

Number of people:

Approximate # of hours of the Trip:

Cost:

Notes:

Confirming:

A confirmation letter will be sent to you one month prior to your trip.
Please call us immediately if any information is incorrect or if there is a

change.
Important:

A minimum of twenty (20) passengers is required for the 28 passenger bus.

Cancelling:

Should the weather become severe during a trip, it is up to the driver of the
vehicle as to whether the trip should be cancelled. In the event that unsafe
weather conditions prevail, the Program Director may cancel a trip in
advance.

Contact Person: Operations Manager (409-770-6252)
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Galveston County
Department of Parks & Senjor Services
Transportation Evaluation Form

For what purpose was transportation provided?

. How many guests were in your group?

- How would you rate the quality of the transportation service?

00 Excellent O Fair 0O Poor

How helpful, friendly and respectful was the driver/Staff?
O Very 0J Little (J Not at all

How would you rate your overall experience?
0 Excellent J Fair d Poor

Would you recommend our service for future transportation?
0 Yes or O No If no, please list why:

Do you have any suggestions to improve our service?

Additional Comments:

Optional (Not required)

Name Date
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Galveston County

Department of Parks & Senior Services
Bus/Van Transportation

WAIVER AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING

i, hereby waive, release, and hold The Galveston
County Department of Parks & Senior Services staff not responsible for any liability,
bodily injury, loss or damages.

[ have been fully informed of the rules, regulations, and release concerning the use of the
bus/transportation service.

Signature: Date:
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