NEW RESIDENT HANDBOOK COMING SOON!!!!
The above handbook includes motor vehicle, property tax and voter registration information and forms necessary for new Galveston County residents. Open, review and print only those pages you need at this time. A brief summary of necessary information is included below for your convenience. All forms referred to may be found at the Tax Office Forms link. Additional information is available by clicking on the individual topic links at left.
You have 30 days after moving to obtain a Texas Drivers License (TDL). Contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) online at www.TxDPS.state.tx.us.
MOTOR VEHICLE INFORMATION:
New residents from out of State will pay $90.00 to register their vehicle in Texas and an additional $33.00 application fee. You will need to do the following:
1. Have your vehicle inspected at a DPS licensed inspection station in Galveston County. EFFECTIVE
MARCH 1, 2015, ALL VEHICLES MUST HAVE A CURRENT INSPECTION IN ORDER TO RENEW
OR OBTAIN REGISTRATION. Listings of inspection stations may be found online at the DPS website
(www.TxDPS.state.tx.us). The station will require proof of liability insurance. Upon passage of the
safety inspection, you will be provided a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR).
2. Bring the following to our office:
a. Proof of insurance, title or registration in your name
b. Current driver's license (out-of-state is okay)
c. DPS Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR)
PROPERTY TAX INFORMATION
Property taxes in Texas are based on the January 1 market value of your property as determined by the county appraisal district (CAD). The CAD handles all ownership, exemption and value information on your property. All necessary forms are available in our office and on both this and the appraisal district websites. In Galveston County go to www.galvestoncad.org and in Harris County go to www.hcad.org.
In late October each year, GCTO mails tax statements for those governments is serves, thus, you may receive tax statements from several different tax offices (county, school district, MUD, etc.).
If your mortgage company requests the statement, you will NOT receive one. You may obtain a statement, payment history and other information on your property 24/7 from our real-time, online database.
There are several ways to pay - half/split pay (first half by November 30 and second half by June 30), quarter pay (if qualified pay four equal installments with first installment due January 31) or in full by January 31 (to avoid hefty penalty and interest charges).
You may mail payments, come in to one of our offices or drop payments in one of our conveniently located drop boxes or pay online (click on the red County Database button).
The County Tax Assessor Collector is the Voter Registrar in Galveston County. Use the convenient online application or obtain one at any of our locations.
We are thrilled you have moved to Galveston County. We look forward to serving you!
Cheryl E. Johnson, PCC
Galveston County Tax Assessor Collector