remain for timely payment of 2020 property taxes and the Galveston County Tax
Office hopes to make it easy for you to check that chore off the “to do” list.
installment payment option is available to homeowners over 65, disabled
persons, disabled vets, surviving spouses of disabled vets and those still
impacted by Hurricane Harvey and more recent Governor declared disasters. Divide the total amount of 2020 taxes by four
and submit first payment by February 1st.
The remaining installments will be due March 31, May 31, and August 2
(coupons with payment envelopes will be mailed in March as a reminder).
2020 Temporary Disaster Exemption Deadlines
Texas Tax Code was amended during the last legislative session as a result of a
voter approved amendment to the Texas Constitution, specifically Proposition 3
that provided for a temporary exemption from taxation of a portion of the
value. The change in statute provides for a temporary exemption for property owners who
are victims of natural disasters. The exemption is automatic for all
governments adopting a tax rate on or after any disaster declaration. All
others must adopt the exemption.
2020 - Are you Entitled to a Disaster Exemption for 2020
The Tax Code Section 11.35 allows a property that is damaged at least 15% and up to 100% in a Governor declared disaster area to receive a temporary exemption of a portion of the appraised value of the property. A property owner must apply for the exemption no later than 105 days after the governor declares a disaster area (Hurricane Laura declaration was 8.23.30 with an application deadline of 12.7.2020 and TS Beta declaration was 9.21.2020 with a 1.4.2021 deadline).
2020 - County Tax Office Establishes New Partnership
The Galveston County Tax Office is constantly
examining ways to reduce cost while expanding services to its customers – both citizens
and governments. Consolidation of
services such as property tax assessment and collections has the potential of
saving local governments thousands of dollars in collection costs with the basic
County fee far less than the price of a single stamp ($0.21 per property). Property owners benefit from the convenience
of a single payment and receiving services at multiple locations.
are proud to announce the newest GCTO property tax assessment and collection
customer is Galveston County Municipal Utility District #44 which encompasses
at Tuscan Lakes and Tuscan Lakes. In
2014, after nine years of operation, a resident of the community first joined
the Board of Directors. This year, 2020,
is the first time that all directors of the District
reside within its boundaries.
PROTEST YOUR VALUE MATERIALS AND INFORMATION
The Galveston CAD will be mailing 2020 appraisal notices in April and it is possible this year will be as last and informal conferences will not be held except right before a formally requested ARB hearing.
Effectively Protest Your Property Value classes are scheduled (see Tax Office Events for dates and times). If there are any changes resulting from COVID, they will be posted on the homepage, in offices, on Facebook and in press releases.
In an attempt to provide assistance, the class booklet has been expanded and is included below along with the Protest Worksheets. There have been many additions to the booklet and spreadsheets this year due to changes in the law as well as special sections on the coronavirus and economic impact of the pandemic for the future.
2020 - Unpaid 2019 Property Taxes? We Can Help!
notices will soon be arriving in area mailboxes. Thanks to legislation passed several years
ago, homeowners unable to pay in full may sign up for a low penalty payment
agreement. Recent legislation enabled
qualified seniors, disabled persons, disabled vets, spouses of disabled vets and
those still recovering from recent disasters to pay seven (7%) percent penalty
and interest by February 28 in order to take advantage of the one-quarter installment
2020 - Render with Caution But Render!
The property tax is more than 60 taxes, fees and assessments in Texas. There are two types - real property taxes (land and improvements) and business personal property (BPP) taxes (those items used for the production of income in your business such as furniture, fixtures, inventory, equipment, motor vehicles, vessels, and aircraft). These items are typically referred to as business personal property. Pay either real or BPP taxes late (after January 31st) and incur egregious penalties and interest. Fail to render (or report) your BPP value by April 1 and be hit by an additional 10% penalty on the entire amount due.