Property taxes in Texas are based on the January 1 market value of your property as determined by the county appraisal district (CAD). This is the Appraisal phase of the tax calendar. The CAD handles all ownership, exemption and value information on your property. Under State law, appraisal districts make all changes to property records and certifies or provides the information to tax assessor collectors thus if you have an address correction, although we will provide it to the proper appraisal district as a courtesty, it will make the change and provide it to each tax office.
Each spring, CADs issue notices of appraised value, typically in April. This is the Equalization phase of the tax calendar. You have until May 15th (or 30 days after the date of the notice whichever is later) to protest the value. Please check our forms page for a copy of the booklet, Effectively Protesting Taxes.pdf for additional information on the protest process and attend classes held each April and May.
After the appraisal roll is certified, local governments adopt budgets and tax rates - typically during the latter part of the summer. This begins the Assessment phase of the tax calendar During the month of October, we produce tax statements and mail them to property owners and mortgage companies. Starting last year, we mail to both property owners and mortgate companies due to a high number of mortgage refinancing and penalties and interest accruing on accounts in which a bill had not been sent. This eliminated the issue with the wrong mortgage company requesting a statement. PLEASE NOTE - WE HAVE NO WAY OF REMOVING A MORTGAGE CODE ON AN ACCOUNT. Sign up for e-statements the first year to pay off a mortgage if you have doubts about receiving the statement.
The Collection phase of the tax calendar starts when we begin to receive your payments. Property taxes are delinquent February 1 (unless January 31st falls on a weekend). Unless you are taking advantage of a payment option (split or half pay or quarter payments - meaning the total amount is divided by four), payments postmarked AFTER January 31st will incur hefty penalties and interest.
Having a hard time paying the property taxes on your homestead? Sign up for a low penalty payment agreement after February 1st. To avoid the burden of delinquent attorney fees added July 1st and set up a payment agreement (or anytime after the delinquent date - the sooner the better). Call the Property Tax Department (409) 766-2481 for additional information.
Handy Dandy Guide to the Texas Property Tax available here!
Payment Methods & Options
You have several methods of paying property taxes in Galveston County:
1. Click on the large red button and pay online via electronic check, debit or credit card (incurs fees - see #2). Please note that although you will
be able to print a receipt upon payment, files are not received by our office until the following business day for review. If you enter a bank
account or credit card number incorrectly, we will receive an error message for your payment. We make every effort to contact property owners
as quickly as possible when this occurs but penalty and interest could accrue if payment is made on a deadline date.
2. Pay via telephone by calling 1-866-865-1433 (English) or 1-866-865-1435 (Spanish). Please note that electronic check incurs a $1 bank fee,
debit card (except in person) and credit cards incur a 2.5% bank fee. Debit cards in person incur a $3 bank fee.
3. Pay via US Postal Service (use envelope included with statement). Postmarks are everything so be sure to drop in the box BEFORE the last
pick-up time or mail a couple of days in advance of the deadline to insure the proper postmark.
4. Place payment in an envelope and drop in one of the yellow (black in Friendswood) payment boxes located outside each GCTO location
(except Crystal Beach). PLEASE NOTE DATE DROPPED IN THE BOX ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE ENVELOPE.
5. Come in person—we love seeing our customers!
Payment options include:
Homesteads of seniors, disabled persons, disabled veterans, spouses of a disabled veteran or Governor declared disaster victims may be eligble to make
four equal installments (by January 31, by March 31, May 31, and July 31) without penalty and interest. If in doubt, call us.
Split or half pay—for all but Dickinson and Dickinson ISD, you may divide your bill by two and, as long as the first half is paid by November 30th, the
second half is not due until June 30th (unless it falls on a weekend then the next business day) without penalty and interest!
E-Statements - Participate in Reducing the Cost of Government
Each year you may sign up to receive your property tax statement(s) via electronic mail (email) but must do so by September 15th. Click the large red button on the
homepage, locate your account(s) and scroll to the bottom of the page to sign up. Once you are signed up for e-statements you will receive a statement via email
automatically every year in October. In order to remove your request or update your email address please email us at email@example.com
Important Property Tax Deadlines are included at the Tax Office Events tab!
PROPERTY TAX FORMS & INFORMATION
2019 Request for Confidential Property Tax Records
2019 Tax Statement Newsletter
Request for Waiver of Penalty & Interest
Tax Deferral - Seniors and disabled persons are eligible to defer their property taxes which means they may be paid (once deferral approved) and if not, interest per year is added
to the unpaid balance.
Change of Name or Address Forms
Taxpayer Rights & Remedies
Designation of Refund Form (for agents)
GCTO Government Tax Collection Partners (note Clear Lake Shores has zero property taxes)
Consolidated tax assessment and collection services saves property owners money. We charge less than $0.26 per parcel to assess and collect taxes for Galveston County governments
and $1.01 per parcel for partners with boundaries in Harris County such as the cities of Friendswood and League City. Beginning in 2019, fees will drop to $0.21/parcel for Galveston
County properties and $0.97 for Harris County parcels. If your governments are not included in the listing below - ask them why not! Our services are less than their cost to mail the bill!
Galveston County & County Road & Flood
All Cities except Clear Lake Shores (it does not assess a property tax). Cities include Bayou Vista, Dickinson, Friendswood, Galveston, Hitchcock, Jamaica Beach,
Kemah, League City, League City, Santa Fe, Texas City, Tiki Island
High Island ISD
Emergency Services District #1
Emergency Services District #2
GC Drainage District #1
GC Drainage District #2
GC Fresh Water Supply District #6
GC MUD #12
GC Navigation District #1
San Leon MUD
Tara Glen MUD
Westwood Management District
PID Assessments for League City - NEW FOR 2018!
Delinquent Taxes for Crystal Beach, MUD #1, MUD #2, MUD #3, MUD #29, SH MUD 3, SH MUD #6 and
the State of Texas
Cheryl E. Johnson, PCC
Galveston County Tax Assessor Collector