Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sheriff Sale Information
 
Date & Time of Sale:        First Tuesday of every month at 10 a.m. (unless Holiday then next day or
                                                                            Wednesday)
Location:                                      Commissioners Court Room, Galveston County Courthouse 1st floor,
                                                              722 Moody, Galveston, Texas
 
Properties are advertised 21 days prior to the sale in the Galveston County Daily News and are listed on bulletin boards at County offices.  More detailed information is currently available at www.taxsales.lgbs.com and www.pbfcm.com/taxsale.html.  Additionally, the County's delinquent law firm, Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson, LLP (LGBS) has an Interested Buyer (IB) Notification Program available through the firm's interaction website:  www.taxsales.lgbs.com.
 
Sheriff Sales are open to the public.  Those wishing to participate in the bidding process must register/check in prior to the sale to obtain a bidder number.  ONCE THE SALE BEGINS, BIDDER REGISTRATION IS CLOSED.  Absentee bidding is NOT permitted. Successful bidders must remit full payment on sale day no later than 4:00 pm in the form of cash, cashier’s check, or money order (payable to Galveston County Sheriff’s Office). Financing is NOT available.  Properties not sold at auction are struck off to one of the taxing entities (see Resale of Struck Off Properties below).

Successful bidders must apply for a Certificate of Eligibility by submitting a completed application along with a $10.00 processing fee at any GCTO office.  Certificates will be mailed upon completion of the research.  The Certificate of Eligibility and a $30.00 money order or cashier’s check (payable to the Galveston County Clerk) must be submitted to the Sheriff’s Department in order for the deed to be prepared and recorded.  Buyers will receive a copy of the deed once it is filed.  Additional information may be obtained by contacting Captain Pete SiFuentes, Galveston County Sheriff’s Department, at (409) 766-2401. 
 
Redemption Periods & Fees
Redemption periods begin the date the original sheriff's deed is recorded.  Homestead and agricultural exempt properties may be redeemed up to two (2) years from deed recording.  All other properties may be redeemed within six (6) months of recording.   Redemption fees due buyer follow:
 
Homestead or Ag:      First Year:        Price of Sale + 25%                       All Others:     Six Months:        Price of Sale + 25%
                             Second Year:  Price of Sale + 50%
 
PLEASE NOTE:  Texas Property Tax Code Section 34.21 sets forth the specific requirements for 
                                          redemption.  All parties participating in the sheriff's tax sale process should
                               review this law for the rights, duties and procedures associated with the 
                                          right of redemption.
 
Resale of Struck Off Properties
Properties not sold at the auction are 'struck off' to the taxing entities participating in the sale.  These 'resale' properties will then be re-offered for sale through future sheriff sales.  Contact either delinquent law firm for additional information on these property sales.  Bid forms are required.
 
Linebarger, et al                         www.publicans.com             409-948-3401    mark.ciavaglia@publicans.com
Perdue Brandon, et al              www.pbfcm.com                    800-833-5886    mlafleur@pbfcm.com
 
Other Legal Matters to Consider When Purchasing Property at Tax Sales
All properties—whether sold at the Sheriff Sale or Resale are sold “as is” with regard to title, physical condition and use.  Properties may be subject to use restrictions pursuant to local codes and ordinances.  Before purchasing at sheriff sale, interested buyers should consult the local governmental entities in which the property is located to understand these restrictions, if any.  There is no title insurance offered or available at sheriff sale.  If you have questions, consult your attorney. 
 
 
Important Note:  The monthly sales conducted by the Sheriff's Department often include 'execution' sales.  Please know that execution sales are not the same as tax sales.  The laws governing execution sales are completely different from the laws governing tax sales.  Buyers should seek the advice of an attorney to understand the legal aspects of execution sales.
 
Bidders or buyers of Sheriff Sale or Resale property are strongly encouraged to do their own title research before bidding or purchasing property at delinquent tax sales. Property taxes may be due outside of the years included in the Sheriff Sale.  Be certain to do your homework before bidding at sheriff sale!
 
 
Interested Buyer Notification Program
Those interested in tracking or purchasing tax sale properties may now register by county of interest and/or properties of interest on the LGBS tax sale website at www.taxsales.lgbs.com.  Once validated as an IB you will receive email notices when sale listings are posted or if the status of particular properties changes (set for sale, removed from sale, struck off, etc.).  For additional information, view the following pdf file Interested Buyer Notification Program.pdfInterested Buyer Notification Program.pdf or call the Property Tax Department at 1-409-766-2481 or (toll free) 1-877-766-2284 and ask for a Property Tax Specialist.  This feature is the most effective method of staying up-to-date on properties.  
 
 
IMPORTANT NOTE:  Mortgage foreclosure information is available on the County Clerk's website by owner name. If the owner name is not known, information can be obtained in person at the County Clerk's Office. Copies are $1/page.  Galveston County is not involved in these sales.
 
 
 
 
 
 
All files require Adobe Reader